The Anarchist Bundle - Curated by Nick Mamatas

Anarchy is perfectly science fictional—it's widely derided as absolutely impossible, even as the entire apparatus of state and capital are dedicated to making sure that anarchy never blooms. And yet, constantly, sometimes in venues as small as a household, or across entire nations and a worldwide social class, it blooms. Anarchy is inevitable.

Science fiction is the genre of change. The state and capital may try to forestall the future, contain it, or control it, but they will fail. The books in this bundle are about the weaknesses in authority's stranglehold, and the fun we can have escaping it. Some science fiction is about anarchy; some is written in the spirit of anarchy and revels in the anarchic.

I'm extremely pleased to bring to this StoryBundle three titles available as ebook for the very first time. Lisa Goldstein's The Dream Years is a stellar timeslip novel about Surrealism and the Events of May 1968 in Paris, France. Dennis Danvers' The Watch brings Kropotkin into the twentieth century, with the key to changing the world. My own anthology The Urban Bizarre includes extreme early work by Charlie Jane Anders, Tim Pratt, Jeff Somers, and many more.

Anarchist publisher PM Press has given us wonderful titles, including two by science fiction grandmaster Michael Moorcock: Byzantium Endures and The Laughter of Carthage, the first half of the Colonel Pyat Quartet—a dark and thrilling critique of fascism and a part of Moorcock's Eternal Champion multiverse. Marge Piercy's Dance the Eagle to Sleep, widely available for the first time since the 1980s, is a relentless vision of the struggle to create a new society out of the wreckage of the old. Damnificados by JJ Amaworo Wilson is an ultracontemporary portrayal of the inevitability of anarchism. When everything falls apart, only community remains. Also included is my own novel Sensation, which I daresay predicted the Occupy movement before it emerged.

Michael Kazepis is one of the most important writers of the noir and bizarro underground and his collection Gravity showcases his conceptual range. Margaret Kilyjoy is a long-time zinester and activist who recently broke into the big time with her novellas from Her work has explored everything from steampunk to death metal, and we bring you two works—the psuedoutopian A Country of Ghosts and the innovative and interactive choose-your-own-adventure style What Lies Beneath. Finally, plumbing both history and the far reaches of the universe, we bring you two novels by John Henri Nolette, Homuncula and Crypsis—which explore anarchism and the cosmic horrors of the definitely not anarchist H. P. Lovecraft. – Nick Mamatas

For StoryBundle, you decide what price you want to pay. For $5 (or more, if you feel generous), you'll get the basic bundle of five books in any ebook format worldwide:

  • The Watch by Dennis Danvers
  • Byzantium Endures by Michael Moorcock
  • A Country of Ghosts by Margaret Killjoy
  • Damnificados by JJ Amaworo Wilson
  • Sensation by Nick Mamatas

If you pay at least the bonus price of just $15, you get all five of the regular books, plus EIGHT more!

  • The Dream Years by Lisa Goldstein
  • Homuncula by John Henri Nolette
  • Crypsis by John Henri Nolette
  • What Lies Beneath the Clock Tower by Margaret Killjoy
  • The Laughter of Cartharge by Michael Moorcock
  • Gravity by Michael Kazepis
  • The Urban Bizarre by Nick Mamatas
  • Dance the Eagle to Sleep by Marge Piercy

This bundle is available only for a limited time via It allows easy reading on computers, smartphones, and tablets as well as Kindle and other ereaders via file transfer, email, and other methods. You get multiple DRM-free formats (.epub and .mobi) for all books!

It's also super easy to give the gift of reading with StoryBundle, thanks to our gift cards – which allow you to send someone a code that they can redeem for any future StoryBundle bundle – and timed delivery, which allows you to control exactly when your recipient will get the gift of StoryBundle.

Why StoryBundle? Here are just a few benefits StoryBundle provides.

  • Get quality reads: We've chosen works from excellent authors to bundle together in one convenient package.
  • Pay what you want (minimum $5): You decide how much these fantastic books are worth. If you can only spare a little, that's fine! You'll still get access to a batch of exceptional titles.
  • Support authors who support DRM-free books: StoryBundle is a platform for authors to get exposure for their works, both for the titles featured in the bundle and for the rest of their catalog. Supporting authors who let you read their books on any device you want—restriction free—will show everyone there's nothing wrong with ditching DRM.
  • Give to worthy causes: Bundle buyers have a chance to donate a portion of their proceeds to the Prisoners Literature Project and Books Through Bars!
  • Receive extra books: If you beat the bonus price, you'll get the bonus books!

StoryBundle was created to give a platform for independent authors to showcase their work, and a source of quality titles for thirsty readers. StoryBundle works with authors to create bundles of ebooks that can be purchased by readers at their desired price. Before starting StoryBundle, Founder Jason Chen covered technology and software as an editor for and

For more information, visit our website at, tweet us at @storybundle and like us on Facebook. For press inquiries, please email